Jewels of India: Meanings and Properties of Indian Gems

Jewels of India: Meanings and Properties of Indian Gems

Jewelry's significance is woven into the fabric of Indian history. You can't recount a story where the riches of Indian gemstones don't play a role. Gems are still, to this day, used to celebrate, worship, and honor. They indicate the blessings of love, devotion to God, or the power of an alliance.

Gemstones in Abundance - A Brief History

Indian civilization has a rich history of mining, trading, and using popular gemstones for both spiritual and material purposes. In fact, the Indian subcontinent is home to some of the world's oldest and most prolific gemstone mines, including those for diamonds, rubies, sapphires, and emeralds.

Though the Golconda mines are waning, gems of like quality are compared to this standard before consideration and appraisal. Ancient Indians believed that only the finest and most precious gem would be deemed worthy to honor God. Only diamonds mined from the Golconda mines would be considered to honor as tribute. Diamonds of invaluable worth were procured there including the Hope Diamond.

Gemstones have been a part of Indian culture since ancient times, and their importance is reflected in the Vedas, the sacred texts of Hinduism. The Vedas mention several gemstones, including sapphires, rubies, emeralds, and diamonds. According to the Vedas, gemstones were believed to have supernatural powers and were used to ward off evil and promote health and well-being.


Since the 10th century, the Nine Gemstones have been worn to summon protection, strength, and wisdom to those who wore them. Used as a talisman, these gems shielded from harm and enhanced positive energy. These nine gems denote the planets in Indian astrology, each with a unique spirit and purpose.
The Navartana Gems are traditionally arranged in a spoke-like wheel shape with a ruby in the middle representing the Sun. Other shapes such as a snake or fish represent

fertility or maternal importance. In Hinduism, each gemstone represents one auspicious quality related to a planet and its correlated strengths.
Each gemstone is said to have its own unique properties and meanings, and they are often used in traditional Indian medicine, or Ayurveda, to promote physical and emotional healing. In Ayurveda, gemstones are believed to balance the body’s energy centers, or chakras, which are associated with different physical and emotional states.

Read below to gain insight into the qualities and spiritual significance of these magical jewels of India.

1. Ruby, Spinel, Manik.

The "King of all Gemstones" represents the Sun. The ruby is a vibrant blood red or may have a purplish hue signifying life at its essence, power, and youthful energy. Its strengths include health, vitality, and protection from negative forces. Wearing ruby jewelry is thought to strengthen family relationships and enhance communication. Ruby is also believed to stimulate the heart chakra, which is associated with love and compassion.

2. Pearl, Moti.

Representing the Moon, this iridescent color is determined by the mollusk in which it grew and adds to the unique rare essence of each animal. The pearl is believed to represent purity, innocence, and emotional balance. Elders give pearls to children as it is supposed to lessen negative influences and pave the way for a long life full of love.
Pearls worn as jewelry, sewn into clothes, or affixed to households or even religious objects calm emotions and allow for harmony and peace. Pearl is also believed to stimulate the crown chakra, which is associated with spiritual growth and enlightenment.

3. Red Coral, Moonga.

Fittingly representing Mars, red coral symbolizes energy, vitality, and ambition. Grasp this stone to lessen mood swings and even a bad temper. The strength of the deepest seas empowers red coral with the energy to shield the wearer from injury and beat any obstacle. Expect success in financial endeavors and leadership skills with this in your jewelry collection.

4. Emerald, Panna.

The gorgeous green gem, vibrant and almost transparent, is revered in India and thought to be a powerful life force. It allows for smooth communication and enhanced wisdom. The emerald jewelry promotes financial success, intelligence, and witty charm. Its hypnotizing green light connects emeralds with the planet Mercury, along with green tourmaline.

5. Yellow Saphire, Pukhraj.

Jupiter is considered to be the most benevolent and auspicious planet in Vedic astrology, and wearing a yellow sapphire is believed to bring good luck, prosperity, and success. This splendid, crystal clear gem is often chosen over the untamed powers of the blue sapphire, as it's a symbol of divinity and grace. Wearing this sapphire jewelry supposedly brings success, marital bliss, and health. It allows for peace and spiritual growth.

6. Diamond, Heera.

Diamonds represent Venus, the mecca of desire. Specifically, the Golconda Diamond is known for its brilliant perfection and unwavering quality. The diamond brings forth prosperity, the defeat of obstacles, and a life of luxury. You may find diamonds of just about every color, though the most sought-after is perfectly colorless and clear. Overall, diamonds are considered a highly auspicious gemstone in Indian astrology and are often recommended for people seeking greater love, creativity, and material success in life.

7. Blue Sapphire, Neelam.

Although unmatched in beauty, the power of the velvety blue sapphire is daunting - enough that some believers do not take this talisman on. Saturn is a dark and tumultuous planet; wearers of this blue light are warned to note that improper handling could cause trouble.

Sapphire's positive powers include clarity, prophesy, and even fame and fortune. You can expect wisdom and a decrease in all negative flow of energy. But the innate power in the blue sapphire balances the crown chakra. Its strength should not be overlooked.

8. Hessonite, Gomed

In Vedic astrology, Rahu is a malefic planet (or lunar node), which means it can bring challenges to individuals who have a weak or afflicted Rahu in their birth chart. Wearinga Hessonite gemstone is believed to enhance the positive effects of Rahu and mitigate its negative influences.

Known for its calming effects, hessonite can lessen anxiety and promote mental clarity. Sometimes called the cinnamon stone, you may see this garnet in a golden- yellow or orange-red shade. Wearers can enjoy confidence and clarity as they aim for their goals.

9. Cat's Eye, Lehsunia.

Representing the descending moon Ketu, one of the shadow planets in Hindu astrology. Wearing a Cat's Eye gemstone is believed to enhance the positive effects of Ketu and all of its miraculous healing properties. Believe, and you will receive feelings of optimism and inner peace. Cat's Eye is found in many colors from garyish black to a honey-yellow.

Shana Gulati Jewelry - Contemporary Jewelry with Indian Roots

At Shana Gulati Jewelry, every ring, necklace, bracelet, and earring is hand-made in Jaipur, India. This unique concept brings together two cultures - the nuances of the bustling New York City and cultural treasure-trove that is India.

Embracing the fundamental tenants of death and rebirth in the Hindu religion, Shana takes discarded materials and creates one-of-a-kind, upcycled jewelry. This process emulates the cycle of life as a never-ending flow gives precious gems a new chance to shine.

Each piece is tested to be cadmium-free, nickel-free, and hypoallergenic. Gold creations undergo the gold vermeil process and all silver is sterling silver guaranteed.

Shop Now